## I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN<sup>2011</sup> 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 185 -31 (LS)

Introduced by:

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Rory J. Respicio J. P. Guthertz, DPA T. R. Muna Barnes v. c. pangelinan

RELATIVE TO COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE MEMBERS OF THE "50TH GUAM STUDENT UNIVERSITY OF **GOVERNMENT** ASSOCIATION" AS THEY ASSUME OFFICE FOR THE 2011 TO 2012 ACADEMIC YEAR; AND TO THANKING AND ADVISORS THE MEMBERS OF THE "49TH UNIVERSITY OF GUAM STUDENT GOVERNMENT ASSOCIATION" FOR THEIR SERVICE, COMMITMENT AND DILIGENCE DURING THE 2010 TO 2011 ACADEMIC YEAR.

## 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN: 2

WHEREAS, the 2011 to 2012 Academic year rings in a new era of 3 stewards tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of 4 5 the mission of the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 50th University of Guam Student 6 Government Association (UOG SGA) include Jesse J. Quenga, President; 7 JoDee Marie Perez Catahay, Vice-President; Brittany M. Aguon Treasurer; 8 9 David Q. Mercado Jr., Secretary; Rhea Nicole Aninzo, Jermaine Dahilig,

Jaydee M. Damaso, Kebor P. Kerradel, D'Leoleigh-Aloha U. Layce, Kimberly
 Mae B. Pacay, Rica O. Quejado, Anthony Roy Quenga, Marissa M. Ricalde,
 Jayson D. Smith, Catherine A.S. Terlaje, Senators; and

WHEREAS, as members of the 50th UOG SGA, they will carry forward
the work of past student governments while ensuring that opportunities for
self-expression remain and the formation of new and improved educational
programs continues; and

8 WHEREAS, the 50th UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble, is set to 9 practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate activities for 10 UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of the 11 institution and the island-community; and

12 WHEREAS, the members of the 49th UOG SGA include: Benjamin F.A. 13 Leon Guerrero II, 4-Term President; Lisa Maureen Terlaje Meeks, Vice 14 President; Angelica Topasna Mantanona, Treasurer; Heather Marie M. Leon 15 Guerrero, Secretary; and Regina Fergurgur Bato, Christopher C. Bawar, Frank 16 Lee San Nicolas Borja, Paciano Naputi Gumataotao, Alice B. Mendoza, Jesse 17 John Quenga, Queanna Savanna Camacho Sablan, Brian DeLeon Guerrero 18 Salas, Amanda L. Shelton, Charles San Jose Santos, and Johnny Masao 19 Silbanuez, Senators; and

WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the 49th UOG
SGA include: Senior Advisor Dr. Ansito Walter, Division of Public
Administration; and Advisor Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications & Fine
Arts; and

WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the education attained at UOG, the SGA members of today are destined to become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it 1 **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*, on behalf 2 of the people of Guam, does hereby commend and congratulate all the 3 members of the 50th University of Guam Student Government Association, 4 and wish them great success during the 2011 to 2012 Academic year; and be it 5 further

6 **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*, on behalf 7 of the people of Guam, does hereby extend a sincere *Un Dangkulo na Si Yu'os* 8 *ma'åse'* to all the members and advisors of the 49th University of Guam 9 Student Government Association for their service, commitment, and diligence 10 during the 2010 to 2011 Academic year; and be it further

11 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 12 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 13 thereafter transmitted to Mr. Jesse John Quenga, President, 50<sup>th</sup> University of 14 Guam, Student Government Association; to Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon 15 Leon Guerrero II, President, 46<sup>th</sup> - 49<sup>th</sup> University of Guam, Student 16 Government Association; to Dr. Robert Underwood, President, University of 17 Guam; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 25<sup>th</sup> DAY OF AUGUST 2011.

JUDITH WON PAT Speaker Tina Muna-Barnes Senator and Secretary of the Legislature